top of page

See video here:

The D Aegean 18 scale Handpan, with its foundational root at D3 and further enriched by additional notes on the underside, unfolds a rich and evocative soundscape that draws from the Eastern Mediterranean's musical heritage. This scale, featuring D3, F#3, A3, C#4, D4, F#4, G#4, A4, C#5, D5, F#5 and including underside notes B2, E3, G#3, E4, B4, E5


The D Aegean scale is celebrated for its versatility and emotional range, blending the mystical qualities of Eastern music with the harmonic richness of Western traditions. The inclusion of B2, D3, E3, F#3, and G#3 as ding notes adds significant depth to the scale, grounding the higher melodic explorations with a warm, resonant base. This deep resonance enhances the scale's versatility, making it suitable for a wide array of musical expressions—from introspective melodies to vibrant, rhythmic compositions.

Ding Notes Section:

The selection of B2, D3, E3, F#3, and G#3 as ding notes is particularly noteworthy. These notes provide a bassy and profound undertone to the Handpan's sound, enriching the instrument's harmonic complexity. The B2 note offers a deep, earthy foundation that complements the brighter, sharper tones of the D3 and the melodic richness of E3, F#3, and G#3. This combination allows for an expansive range of musical exploration, enabling musicians to delve into both the meditative lower registers and the expressive upper melodies with ease. The ding notes act as pivotal points around which compositions can pivot, offering both a grounding effect and a springboard for melodic innovation.

Possible Chord Progressions:

Given the notes available in the D Aegean scale, including the versatile ding notes, several chord progressions are possible, offering a variety of harmonic landscapes to explore:

1. D Major - A Major - E Major: Leveraging the ding notes for bassy undertones, this progression moves from D major (D, F#3, A), to A major (A, C#4, E), to E major (E, G#4, B), offering a journey that is uplifting and sonically rich.

2. B Minor - G# Minor - E Major: Beginning with B minor (B, D, F#), transitioning to G# minor (G#3, B, D4), and resolving in E major, this progression creates a contemplative narrative enriched by the deep resonance of the ding notes.

3. F# Minor - D Major - A Major: Starting with F# minor (F#3, A, C#4), moving to D major, and then to A major, this sequence provides a mix of introspection and resolution, perfect for expressive and emotive pieces.

4. A Major - E Major - B Minor: This progression, from A major to E major and concluding with B minor, offers a harmonic journey that reflects the scale's ability to blend joyous and melancholic moods seamlessly, with the ding notes adding depth and resonance.

The D Aegean scale, with its unique combination of notes and the strategic use of ding notes for added depth, provides a rich canvas for musical exploration. Its capacity for deep vibrational resonance, coupled with the broad range of emotional expression it supports, makes it a favored choice for composers and performers seeking to create pieces that resonate on a profound level, bridging ancient sounds with modern musicality.

Made from Ember steel, a beautiful stainless material which allows for a warm but sustained, crystal clear tone with a ceramic tactile touch.

D Aegean 18

    bottom of page